UC San Diego SearchMenu
UC San Diego Academic Senate Logo


Part 2: Committees
Chapter 3. Standing Committees of the Division

Library and Scholarly Communication
Am 2/27/24
  • A)
    This committee shall consist of seven ordinary members of the Division, including ex officio the University Librarian at San Diego, who shall not become chair.  It shall also have one representative of the Librarians Association of University of California, one undergraduate student representative, and one graduate student representative, who shall not have the right to vote.  One member shall also serve on the University Committee on Library and Scholarly Communication see Bylaw 185(C)(8)SBL 185 Am 5/24/77, Rt 6/8/77, Am 5/24/83, Am 2/24/04, Am 2/27/24
  • B)
    The Committee on Library and Scholarly Communication shall have the following duties: Am 2/27/24
    • 1)
      It shall confer with and advise the Chancellor, other administrative agencies and the Senate on planning, budget, and resource allocations. see 105.2 (f) of the Standing Orders of Regents Such advice shall include recommendations concerning the Library budget, the formulation of Library policies, the allocation of space, and the apportionment of funds.
    • 2)
      It shall perform such other duties relative to the Library at San Diego as may be committed to the Division by proper authority.
    • 3)
      It shall provide liaison between the faculty and the Library adminis­tration in all matters of Library policy.
    • 4)
      It shall prepare and submit to the Division an annual report on financial problems, allocation of space, facilities for research in campus libraries, and any other matters within its jurisdiction.
    • 5)

      It shall participate in an advisory capacity to the Chancellor at San Diego and the President of the University preliminary to the appoint­ment of the University Librarian.

Part 2: Committees