UC San Diego SearchMenu
UC San Diego Academic Senate Logo


Divisional Committees


The San Diego Division of the Academic Senate utilizes a governance structure that includes three bodies at its highest level:

  • The Representative Assembly is a legislative body with broad Senate representation that is empowered to act in all divisional matters.
  • The Senate Council oversees the Academic Senate’s business activities, advises the Divisional Chair, coordinates committee activities, and sets the Representative Assembly meeting agendas.
  • The Senate Administration Council, which includes the Chancellor, Vice Chancellors, and the Deans of the Undergraduate and Graduate Divisions, facilitates cooperation between the Academic Senate and the campus administration.

Standing & Special Committees

There are 24 standing committees, each of which is defined within the Academic Senate Bylaws and charged with responsibilities that are limited to a specified scope. Other special committees and workgroups are established to perform specialized tasks.