UC San Diego SearchMenu
UC San Diego Academic Senate Logo

Faculty Research Lecturer

Faculty Research Lecturer Award

About the Faculty Research Lecturer Award

Each year, the Academic Senate honors two of its members with the prestigious Academic Senate Faculty Research Lecturer Award, one from the Arts, Humanities or Social Sciences and one from the Sciences or Engineering.  This award, which has been granted to some of our most illustrious colleagues over many years, is a sign of the respect of peers for the ground-breaking research conducted by members of the UCSD faculty.  The two selected faculty members are honored with a reception prior to a lecture of their choice, and receive a $1,500 honorarium.

Rommie Amaro and Thomas Levy will be recognized on January 30, 2018.  The reception begins at 2:00 p.m. and lectures begin at 2:30 p.m. at the Faculty Club.  Please RSVP to awelch@ucsd.edu.


Rommie E. Amaro, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Computing Cures: Discovery through the Lens of a Computational Microscope

Thomas E. Levy, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Anthropology
At-Risk World Heritage and the Digital Humanities: Recent Research in the Eastern Mediterranean

Senate Awards