UC San Diego SearchMenu
UC San Diego Academic Senate Logo

Distinguished Research Award

Distinguished Research Award

About the Distinguished Research Award

Each year, the Academic Senate honors two of its members with the prestigious Academic Senate Distinguished Research Award, one from the Arts, Humanities or Social Sciences and one from the Sciences or Engineering.  This award, which has been granted to some of our most illustrious colleagues over many years, is a sign of the respect of peers for the ground-breaking research conducted by members of the UCSD faculty.  The two selected faculty members present a lecture of their choice, and receive a $1,500 honorarium.

Joseph Wang and Steven Schick were recognized on December 6, 2022,     at a reception at the Faculty Club. 


“Our Fantastic UCSD Microrobotic Journey Towards the Fantastic Voyage into the Body”   

 Joseph Wang, Distinguished Professor of Nanoengineering, SAIC Endowed Chair; Director Center for Wearable Sensors

 “An Echo is a Sound with Wings: Understanding Chou Wen-chung's percussion work Echoes from the Gorge through the lens of Edgard Varèse and American Experimentalism.” 

Steven Schick, Distinguished Professor of Music; Reed Family Presidential Chair