UC San Diego SearchMenu
UC San Diego Academic Senate Logo

Division Chair

2023/2024 Senate Leadership

John Hildebrand (Scripps Institution of Oceanography)

John Hildebrand is an oceanographer who uses underwater sound to study marine mammals as well as anthropogenic sources of noise. He has developed marine instrumentation and conducted extensive observational studies at sea. He joined the UCSD Scripps Institution of Oceanography (SIO) as a research scientist in 1983 and as an assistant professor in 1987. He is a fellow of the Acoustical Society of America (ASA) and has served as a member of the ASA Executive Committee.

John Hildebrand is also an adjunct Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering and regularly teaches an undergraduate laboratory course sequence in acoustics. He serves as the curriculum coordinator for the Applied Ocean Sciences Program which is an interdepartmental program between SIO and the Jacobs School of Engineering. He is affiliated with the UCSD Halicioglu Data Science Institute, and co-Director of the Scripps Center for Marine Archaeology, a joint center between SIO and the UCSD Department of Anthropology.

John Hildebrand and members of his research group have an ongoing collaboration with the UCSD Department of Music to bring underwater soundscapes to a larger audience. He has been collaborating with native peoples from Alaska and Nunavut, Canada on research studying underwater sound in the high arctic.

He has served as the SIO Faculty Chair and on the Warren College Executive Committee. For the Academic Senate he has served on the Representative Assembly, Senate Council and Senate/Administrative Council. He has also served on the Graduate Council (2008/2009, Chair 2010), Library Committee (2018/2019, Chair 2020), Educational Policy Committee (2011/2012/2013/2021), Research Committee (1998/1999) and the Committee on Committees (2005/2006/2007). He has served as a San Diego Divisional Representative to the UC systemwide Academic Council, as well as on the Coordinating Committee on Graduate Affairs, and the University Committee on Library and Scholarly Communications.

Senate Leadership