UC San Diego SearchMenu
UC San Diego Academic Senate Logo

2016/2017 Award Recipients

Distinguished Teaching Award RecipientsBarbara and Paul Saltman Distinguished Teaching Award, Non-Senate Members

Sean J. Evans (Neuroscience)

Sean J. Evans is an enthusiastic, talented, hardworking educator. He is a tireless advocate for medical students, and his prowess extends across the preclinical and clinical years. Dr. Evans has effectively conveyed his passion for clinical neurology in the classroom setting; he also shines in the less structured setting of the wards and clinic. Dr. Evans has not only taught a generation of trainees how to become better physicians, he has also taught them how to become more empathetic and humane professionals and better teachers in their own right. A student commented, “A stand out! He is so genuine in his interest in teaching medical students and really goes above and beyond to engage, teach, and challenge us. I am so thankful I got to work with him!” Dr. Evans’s intellectual breadth and rigor are the stuff of legend and are coupled with thoroughness, enthusiasm, professionalism, and compassion.