UC San Diego SearchMenu
UC San Diego Academic Senate Logo

News & Announcements

2022-23 Donald F. Tuzin Distinguished Service Award Recipients and Senate Service Reception
April 04, 2023
Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to honor the 2022-23 recipients of the Academic Senate’s Donald F. Tuzin Distinguished Service Award for their distinct service contributions to the UC San Diego campus and the broader community.
  • Fonna Forman, Ph.D.
    Professor, Department of Political Science
  • Daniel L. Widener, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor, Department of History
The Academic Senate will be hosting a Senate Service Reception on Monday, April 24th. We hope you will join us to honor Professor Forman and Professor Widener, celebrate Senate members for their service contributions, learn more about Senate service, and socialize with Senate colleagues. All Senate faculty are invited to attend.

Event Details
Monday, April 24, 2023
Reception begins at 3:30 p.m.
The Ida & Cecil Green Faculty Club
RSVP by April 17th

About the Donald F. Tuzin Distinguished Service Award
The Donald F. Tuzin Distinguished Service Award recognizes colleagues who have shown exceptional leadership by serving the university in a manner that reflects a deep commitment to shared governance and the excellence of the University of California. This annual award is presented to faculty who have engaged in exemplary service with a significant public impact beyond the UC San Diego campus. Professor Forman and Professor Widener are the inaugural recipients of the award.


Nancy Postero
Academic Senate, San Diego Division

Grant Kester
Committee on Senate Awards