UC San Diego SearchMenu
UC San Diego Academic Senate Logo

News & Announcements

2016-17 Senate Election: Polls Open
April 25, 2016

Dear Colleagues:

Voting is open for the annual election of a Divisional Vice Chair/Chair Designate, Divisional Representatives to the systemwide Assembly of the Academic Senate, and Committee on Committees members. These elected positions play a key role on campus and systemwide. The Senate Chair leads the Senate Council and Representative Assembly, and with the Divisional Representatives, ensures a faculty voice in campus and systemwide decisions. The Committee on Committees shapes our campus voice by selecting Senate members for Senate and Senate-Administration standing committees and for a wide array of ad hoc search, review and other committees and task forces.

This year, a fossil fuel divestment resolution is included on the ballot. The resolution and information related to this issue may be found on the Senate’s website at /current-affairs/issues-under-review/divestment-resolution/.

Additionally, a Fossil Fuel Divestment Town Hall will be held on Wednesday, April 27, 2016, from 4:00 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. in the Garren Auditorium of the Biomedical Sciences Building (first floor).

All voting is electronic. Please use the following link to vote: https://senext.ucsd.edu/secure/inquiry/ballot/2016-17_Election

The voting system will authenticate your identity via the campus Single Sign-On system and is designed to maintain the confidentiality of the voting process by keeping track of who has voted, but not how each member votes. Once a vote is cast, neither the voter nor anyone else can change the vote. To minimize technical difficulties while completing the voting ballot, please refrain from using your browser’s forward and backward buttons. Instead, use the “previous” and “next” buttons provided on the ballot form to navigate between screens.

If you are unable to access the ballot electronically, you may contact Alex Tea (altea@ucsd.edu or 4-3640) to arrange to vote electronically in the Senate Office.

The San Diego Division will continue voting until 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, May 11, 2016, which is the deadline for all votes to be cast.

Thank you for voting!



Kaustuv Roy, Vice Chair
Academic Senate, San Diego Division