UC San Diego SearchMenu
UC San Diego Academic Senate Logo


Appendix 5: Bylaws of the Faculties of UCSD

Bylaws of the Faculty of Eighth College En 11/28/23
  • I)


    All members of the San Diego Division of the Academic Senate of the University of California appointed to Eighth College are voting members of the Eighth College Faculty.

    Eighth College is committed to being in conversation with local communities to inform and shape the implementation of its mission. As such, due to the unique nature of the College surrounding community partnership, involvement, related to areas that directly impact their work with students, will also be extended to community stakeholders.


    The faculty shall be concerned with the academic program of Eighth College and all aspects of the college that bear directly on that program.


    At least one Faculty meeting per year shall be called. Faculty meetings can be called by the Provost, the Executive Committee, or on the written request of ten members of the Eighth College Faculty.


    The presence of 20 percent of the membership or ten members of the faculty, whichever is the smaller, shall constitute a quorum.

  • V)


    A member of the Faculty of Eighth College shall be elected by the Faculty to serve as Chair of the Faculty for a one-year term beginning September 1. Elections may be by mail or electronic ballot. Nominations for election as Chair of the Faculty shall be solicited from the Faculty in the Spring of each year. The Chair of the Faculty shall preside at all meetings of the Faculty and of the Executive Committee.


    The Chair shall request that the Provost appoint a person from the administrative staff of the College who is not a member of the Faculty to serve as Secretary of the Faculty and be responsible for recording and distributing minutes.

    • A)
      The Executive Committee of the Faculty of Eighth College shall consist of the Chair of the Faculty, the Provost, and five additional elected faculty representatives. Both the Provost and the Chair serve as ex officio members. In addition, two Eighth College students shall be appointed annually to serve one- year terms as non-voting members of the Executive Committee. The College Deans may also serve as non- voting ex officio members of the Executive Committee.
    • B)

      The elected faculty representatives to the Executive Committee normally shall serve two-year terms, with elections staggered so that at least one member remains in office for another year. Nominations for faculty representatives shall be solicited from the Faculty in the Spring of each year, generally at the same time as nominations for the Chair of the Faculty. Whenever possible the faculty representatives shall be from different academic areas (e.g., humanities, social sciences, fine arts, physical sciences, etc.), and no two elected faculty representatives shall be from the same academic department. If any vacancy occurs through death, resignation or otherwise before the expiration of the two-year term, the faculty representative elected to fill the vacancy shall serve for the unexpired term. No elected faculty representative shall serve on the Executive Committee for more than 4 consecutive years.

    • C)
      The Executive Committee shall have authority to appoint ad hoc committees, as needed, to implement the functions set forth in Paragraph II.
    • D)
      Community stakeholders will be involved in targeted areas where their input is most needed, particularly around the Engagement component for Eighth College. 

    Robert's Rules of Order shall govern the transaction of business, except for modification of these Bylaws or the Academic Plan of Eighth College.


    Changes in the Eighth College Academic Plan shall be approved for submission to the Academic Senate Undergraduate Council by a simple majority vote at a faculty meeting or by anonymous mail or electronic ballot, as deemed appropriate by the Executive Committee of the Faculty, provided the faculty has been notified of the proposed change at least five days of instruction prior to the vote. Mail or electronic ballots shall include arguments for and against any proposed changes.

    For decisions related to community partnerships, community involvement will occur on an issue-to-issue basis, as decided by the Executive Committee of the Faculty and in consultation with community members. 


    The procedure for amendment of these Bylaws shall be the same as for changes in the Academic Plan, except that a two-thirds majority is required.