UC San Diego SearchMenu
UC San Diego Academic Senate Logo


Appendix 1: Excerpts for Standing Order of the Regents
Standing Order 105. Academic Senate

Organization of the Academic Senate
  • a)
    The Academic Senate shall consist of the President, Vice Presidents, Chancellors, Vice Chancellors, Deans, Provosts, Directors of academic programs, the chief admissions officer on each campus and in the Office of the President, registrars, the University Librarian on each campus of the University, each lecturer who has full-time teaching responsibilities in any curriculum under the control of the Academic Senate and whose academic title is Senior Lecturer with Security of Employment or Lecturer with Security of Employment, and each person giving instruction in any curriculum under the control of the Academic Senate whose academic title is Instructor, Instructor in Residence; Assistant Professor, Assistant Professor in Residence, Assistant Professor of Clinical (e.g. Medicine); Associate Professor, Associate Professor in Residence, Associate Professor of Clinical (e.g. Medicine), Acting Associate Professor; Professor, Professor in Residence, Professor of Clinical (e.g. Medicine), or Acting Professor; however, Instructors and Instructors in Residence of less than two (2) years' service shall not be entitled to vote.  Members of the faculties of professional schools offering courses at the graduate level only shall be members also of the Academic Senate, but, in the discretion of the Academic Senate, may be excluded from participation in activities of the Senate that relate to curricula of other schools and colleges of the University.  Membership in the Senate shall not lapse because of leave of absence or by virtue of transference to emeritus status.
  • b)
    The Academic Senate shall determine its own membership under the above rule, and shall organize, and choose its own officers and committees in such manner as it may determine.
  • c)

    The Academic Senate shall perform such duties as the Board may direct and shall exercise such powers as the Board may confer upon it.  It may delegate to its divisions or committees, including the several faculties and councils, such authority as is appropriate to the performance of their respective functions.