UC San Diego SearchMenu
UC San Diego Academic Senate Logo

News & Announcements

2018-19 Senate Election: Polls Open
April 23, 2018

Dear Colleagues:

Faculty participate in the running of the University through the system of shared governance with the Administration.  In order to preserve and enhance faculty leverage, it is important that Senate leadership has the broadest possible support of the faculty.  The most important way to demonstrate such backing is to vote in Senate elections.

Voting is open for the annual election of a Divisional Vice Chair/Chair Designate, Divisional Representatives to the systemwide Assembly of the Academic Senate, and Committee on Committees members.  These elected positions play a key role on campus and systemwide.  The Senate Chair leads the Senate Council and Representative Assembly, and with the Divisional Representatives, ensures a faculty voice in campus and systemwide decisions.  The Committee on Committees shapes our campus voice by selecting Senate members to serve on Senate standing committees and nominating Senate members to serve on a wide array of administrative search, review and other committees.

All voting is electronic.  Please use the following link to vote:


The voting system will authenticate your identity via the campus Single Sign-On system and is designed to maintain the confidentiality of the voting process by keeping track of who has voted, but not how each member votes.  Once a vote is cast, neither the voter nor anyone else can change the vote.  To minimize technical difficulties while completing the voting ballot, please refrain from using your browser’s forward and backward buttons.  Instead, use the “previous” and “next” buttons provided on the ballot form to navigate between screens.

If you are unable to access the ballot electronically, you may contact Andrew Flores (aflores@ucsd.edu or 4-3640) to arrange to vote electronically in the Senate Office.

The San Diego Division will continue voting until 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, May 9, 2018, which is the deadline for all votes to be cast.

Thank you for voting!  Do it!


Robert Horwitz
Vice Chair
Academic Senate, San Diego Division